Angelo Verploegen – The Duke Book (2019)

Angelo Verploegen - The Duke Book (2019)
Artist: Angelo Verploegen
Album: The Duke Book
Label: Just Listen Records
Year Of Release: 2019
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Blues in Blueprint
02. Satin Doll
03. Come Sunday
04. Interlude I (Bounce)
05. Caravan
06. Interlude II (Hummin’)
07. A Flower Is a Lovesome Thing
08. Take the a Train
09. Interlude III (Curls)
10. In a Sentimental Mood
11. Interlude IV (Hush)
12. Smada
13. It Don’t Mean a Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing)
14. Interlude V (Last Call)
15. Sophisticated Lady


“Now together in The Duke Book. An intuitive combination, in which feeling, openness, daring and respect for each other provide the Ellington compositions with new perspectives. (…) The Duke Book by Angelo Verploegen and Jasper van Hulten is of great importance for Dutch jazz. In this micro-constellation, no one can better and more honestly interpret the heritage of Duke Ellington than they do. What an achievement again. (…) The music conducts a dialogue with The Duke, in which it is constantly scanned to see whether the vision of the two contemporary performers fits within the framework of the great composer. That he would not doubt this for a moment will be confirmed by everyone who takes note of this beautiful CD.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *