Arthur Lyman – Yellow Bird (1961/2019)

Arthur Lyman - Yellow Bird (2019)
Artist: Arthur Lyman
Album: Yellow Bird
Label: RevOla
Year Of Release: 1961/2019
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Havah Nagilah (Remastered) (2:34)
02. Yellow Bird (Remastered) (2:44)
03. Ravel’s Bolero (Remastered) (4:05)
04. Autumn Leaves (Remastered) (3:52)
05. Arrivederci Roma (Remastered) (3:10)
06. Sweet And Lovely (Remastered) (2:58)
07. Bamboo Tamboo (Remastered) (1:57)
08. Andalusia (Remastered) (2:34)
09. Adventures In Paradise (Remastered) (2:49)
10. Granada (Remastered) (2:35)
11. September Song (Remastered) (5:02)
12. John Henry (Remastered) (2:31)


Long before the term “World Music” was coined, before the Buddha Bar series mixed cool down tempo lounge music with an “exotic” world vibe, long before “space age bachelor pad” helped to define lounge music’s reemergence in the nineties, before funky drum-kit break-beats, before nature sounds started creeping into New Age music, long before Mobile Fidelity Labs made state of the art, audiophile stereo recordings, there was the Hawaiian lounge instrumentalist and vibe player Arthur Lyman. In 1961, Lyman’s interpretation of the Haitian folk song “Yellow Bird” stayed in the Billboard Top Ten for 10 weeks, reached number 4 in the USA and the album of the same name reached number 10. Presented here is the original 1961 single along with Lyman’s treatment of the classic “Never on Sunday.” Newly remastered.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *