Ellas Kapell – Longing (2019)

Ellas Kapell - Longing (2019)
Artist: Ellas Kapell
Album: Longing
Label: Naxos Sweden – Prophone Records
Year Of Release: 2019
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. The Nearness of You
02. You´d Be so Nice to Come Home
03. The Lady is a Tramp
04. Darn That Dream
05. As Long as I Live
06. Body and Soul
07. Almost Like Being in Love
08. All of Me


Lovisa Jennervall – vocals
Manne Skafvenstedt – piano
Anders Langørgen – double bass
Edvin Fridolfsson – drums

Ellas Kapell was formed in the fall of 2016. Sharing an enthusiastic view on the great musical catalogue of Ella Fitzgerald, the band found its moniker and initial repertoire. The repertoire has since expanded beyond the limits of Ella’s songbook, but the band name remains.

In 2018 the band started working on its upcoming debut album Longing. Each band member chose their select few favorite jazz standards and expanded on their thematic and symbolic contents. Clad in new arrangements, the compositions retain their original core, but make bold excursions to modern, daring and personal realms. Addressed topics include rejection, abandonment, romance in the autumn of life, obsession and longing for the past. Some of the interpretations remain simple, carried only by the fragility of lyrics and harmony, while others make room for virtuosity and playfulness. Four of the tracks include guest musician Klas Lindquist on saxophone and clarinet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *