Ellery Eskelin – The Pearls (2019)

Ellery Eskelin - The Pearls (2019)
Artist: Ellery Eskelin
Album: The Pearls
Label: Intakt Records
Year Of Release: 2019
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. ABC
02. Magnetic Rag
03. La fée verte
04. The Pearls
05. Rue Jardinière
06. Jive at Five
07. Il gatto
08. Eccentric Rag
09. Black Drop


At any given time in the past few decades, saxophonist Ellery Eskelin, bassist Christian Weber and drummer Michael Griener have been members of genre-defining trios across Europe and the US, proving just how vital jazz is today in its historical form as well as in free playing styles. In the trio Ellery Eskelin, Christian Weber and Michael Griener play free music and traditional jazz. They do not melt down the playing styles, but alternate, contrast and deepen them.

With the new CD The Pearls they present the second studio record after their critically acclaimed CD “Sensations of Tone”.
Ellery Eskelin writes in the liner notes: “In jazz we talk about playing time and playing free. Playing time usually means expressing a steady pulse and playing free usually means not adhering to a steady pulse. Either way there is still the sensation of movement, time. In making this recording I was struck by the ways in which time can simultaneously be so exacting, so malleable and so multi-dimensional. In these performances you’ll hear free improvisations (with no preconceived forms or steady time pulse) as well as renditions of classic compositions from an earlier musical form directly addressing time, Ragtime.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *