Gil Scott-Heron – We’re New Again: A Reimagining by Makaya McCraven (2020)

Gil Scott-Heron - We're New Again: A Reimagining by Makaya McCraven (2020)
Artist: Gil Scott-Heron
Album: We’re New Again: A Reimagining by Makaya McCraven
Label: XL Recordings
Year Of Release: 2020
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

1. Special Tribute (Broken Home pt. 1) (0:42)
2. I’m New Here (4:13)
3. Running (2:04)
4. Blessed Parents (1:09)
5. New York is Killing Me (5:19)
6. The Patch (Broken Home pt. 2) (1:16)
7. People of the Light (2:54)
8. Being Blessed (0:14)
9. Where Did the Night Go (2:37)
10. Lily Scott (Broken Home pt.3) (1:05)
11. I’ll Take Care of You (3:25)
12. I’ve Been Me (0:36)
13. This Can’t Be Real (1:30)
14. Piano Player (0:36)
15. The Crutch (2:34)
16. Guided (Broken Home pt.4) (1:57)
17. Certain Bad Things (0:13)
18. Me and the Devil (4:48)


To mark the tenth anniversary of the release of I’m New Here, the thirteenth – and last – studio album from the legendary US musician, poet and author Gil Scott-Heron, XL Recordings will release a unique reinterpretation of the album by acclaimed US jazz musician Makaya McCraven. Titled We’re New Again, the album will be released on 7th February 2020; exactly a decade after the release of Scott-Heron’s original Richard Russell-produced recording. It’s set to follow in the footsteps of Jamie xx’s highly acclaimed 2011 remix album We’re New Here and will be McCraven’s first release of 2020, following the huge global acclaim heaped upon his 2018 album Universal Beings. One of the most vital new voices in modern jazz, McCraven is described by the New York Times as a “Chicago-based drummer, producer and beat maker, [who] has quietly become one of the best arguments for jazz’s vitality”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *