Jeff Babko – El Musico (2019)

Jeff Babko - El Musico (2019)
Artist: Jeff Babko
Album: El Musico
Label: Tudortones Music
Year Of Release: 2019
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Borders
02. Schnapps
03. Franklin
04. Gonzo
05. Bat Cave
06. Rad Avenger
07. Spirit Freeway
08. Stars
09. Rules & Regulations
10. L.A. Exit


Jeff Babko- keys, programming
Kaveh Rastegar- bass
Abe Rounds- drums
Tim Young- guitar
Artyom Manukyan- cello
Justin Stanley- engineer, add’l drums & sounds

Jeff Babko has a small slew of solo albums out in various corners of instrumental, jazz and experimental fields, as well as original group recordings (Band Of Other Brothers w/ Will Lee, Nir Felder, Keith Carlock, Jeff Coffin; Mondo Trio w/ Vinnie Colaiuta; Crow Nuts w/ Tim Lefebvre & Louis Cole). Babko makes his living as a sideman, for 16 years in the house band at Jimmy Kimmel Live, and also with Steve Martin/Martin Short (Babko is featured on their Netflix special from 2018). He’s also been heard with Frank Ocean (“Channel Orange”), Sheryl Crow, Mark Guiliana’s Beat Music and on movie scores like “Superbad,” “Deadpool 2”, “Daddy’s Home” and “The 40 Year Old Virgin.”
EL MUSICO is a collection that just “spilled out” as Babko puts it and “felt like it deserved to be recorded and then released for others to hear.” So here is El Musico, which bravely marches into territories that could be lost Police B-sides, themes to 80’s legal dramas, Charlie Haden homages and whatever else Babko felt and his musical comrades produced.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *