John Abercrombie & Don Thompson – Yesterdays (2019)

John Abercrombie & Don Thompson - Yesterdays (2019)
Artist: John Abercrombie & Don Thompson
Album: Yesterdays
Label: Cornerstone Records Inc.
Year Of Release: 2019
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

1. Yesterdays ( 7:33)
2. Embraceable You ( 7:26)
3. Alice In Wonderland (10:13)
4. Alone Together ( 6:17)
5. Lover Man ( 8:44)
6. Come Rain Or Come Shine (10:26)
7. Blue In Green ( 7:12)
8. Turnaround ( 9:47)


The pair only has a few recordings together, despite a decade’s long relationship.

But the early 1990s was a time when guitarist John Abercrombie and multi-instrumentalist Don Thompson seemed to be in sync. There’s a duo album from 1991, Witchcraft, and in October 1992, Abercrombie and Thompson set up a three-night run at Toronto’s The Guitar Bar. Yesterdays, a live recording of the performances due out Sept. 24, finds the pair working through a clutch of intimate standards.

Though Yesterdays is comprised of familiar tunes—and concludes with an interpretation of Ornette Coleman’s “Turnaround”—it still provides insight into the duo’s collaborative relationship. Their rendition of Jerome Kern’s “Yesterdays,” which premieres here, showcases an immediate rapport and finds Thompson tossing off lines at least as dextrous as Abercrombie’s.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *