Mats Eilertsen – Skydive (2011/2018)

Mats Eilertsen - Skydive (2011/2018)
Artist: Mats Eilertsen
Album: Skydive
Label: Hubro
Year Of Release: 2011/2018
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Splendor
02. Memento
03. Birds Perspective
04. Parachute Psalm
05. The Pilots Choice
06. Skydive
07. The Void
08. Embrace
09. The Old Oak


‘SkyDive’ is the sixth album bass player, composer and bandleader Mats Eilertsen – one of the most powerful and distinctive bass players on the Nordic jazz scene – has released under his own name. His quartet has grown into a quintet since the release of the highly praised 2009 album ‘Radio Yonder’.

The members of the original quartet are still present: saxophonist Tore Brunborg, who also plays together with Eilertsen in Tord Gustavsen’s current band, the exciting guitarist Thomas T. Dahl and the creative Finnish drummer Olavi Louhivuori, known from the Ilmiliekki Quartet and Tomasz Stanko’s band. The new team member is the extraordinarily sophisticated Finnish pianist Alexi Tuomarila. Like Louhivuori, Tuomarila plays in Tomasz Stanko’s band.

Mats has found the perfect quintet to play his melodious, intricate and organic music. In this band the members are all equals and superlative players. The album was recorded at legendary Rainbow Studio by Jan Erik Kongshaug and was produced by Eilertsen himself. All the material is composed by Eilertsen. Highly recommended!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *