Per ‘Texas’ Johansson, Torbjörn Zetterberg & Konrad Agnas – Orakel (2019)

Per 'Texas' Johansson, Torbjörn Zetterberg & Konrad Agnas - Orakel (2019)
Artist: Per ‘Texas’ Johansson, Torbjörn Zetterberg & Konrad Agnas
Album: Orakel
Label: Moserobie Music Production
Year Of Release: 2019
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

1 Blodspredikan
2 Oraklet I Finnåker
3 Insikt Och Utlopp
4 Jankai
5 Var Är Storken?
6 Oraklet På Ringvägen
7 Torbjörn Monk
8 Ursprungspositionen
9 Vintertid


A beautiful little record – of the sort it feels like the Moserobie label was created to record – jazz that’s not totally free or improvised, but which is also doing way more than conventional swing as well – served up by a trio with a perfect sense of creative cohesion! The tunes build in very different ways – sometimes with a slight groove, sometimes more complexity – but never too arch for their own good. Per Texas Johansson is fantastic on both tenor and clarinet – and the always-fantastic work on bass of Torbjorn Zetterberg is completely sublime, and the core element that really holds the whole thing together. (Heck, he’s such a hell of a bassist, we’re not sure why he’s not one of the most recognized musicians on the instrument in the world!) Drums are by Konrad Agnas – who has this loose sense of pulse that really matches the energy of the other players – and titles include “Jankai”, “Torbjorn Monk”, “Vinteride”, “Oraklet Pa Ringvagen”, “Blodspredikan”, and “Insikt Och Utlopp”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *