Pete McGuinness Jazz Orchestra – Along for the Ride (2019)

Pete McGuinness Jazz Orchestra - Along for the Ride (2019)
Artist: Pete McGuinness Jazz Orchestra
Album: Along for the Ride
Label: Summit Records
Year Of Release: 2019
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Put on a Happy Face
02. You Must Believe in Spring
03. Old Roads
04. Point of Departure
05. Aftermath
06. May I Come In
07. Jive Samba
08. Who Cares
09. One for the Maestro


GRAMMY-nominated arranger, trombonist and award-winning vocalist Pete McGuinness leads his 17-piece jazz orchestra celebrating the release of its third CD for Summit Records “Along For The Ride”. The band is full of long-time respected NYC jazz musicians and will present works by Pete that appear on the band’s new recording, including creative takes on such well-known classic songs as “You Must Believe In Spring” and “Put On A Happy Face”.

Originally from West Hartford, Connecticut, Pete has been an active professional New York City jazz trombonist, composer-arranger and vocalist since 1987. He has performed as trombonist with such groups as The Woody Herman Orchestra, Lionel Hampton, Jimmy Heath, Bill Charlap, and The Maria Schneider Jazz Orchestra, and appears on over 50 jazz CDs. Pete has led or co-led several of his own jazz groups, including since 2006 the Pete McGuinness Jazz Orchestra. He is a three-time GRAMMY nominee for his jazz arranging and has appeared on the Downbeat magazine critics’ poll several times in both arranger and male vocalist categories. Pete is a past semi-finalist in the Thelonious Monk International Jazz Vocal Competition and was first-place winner in the 2010 NYC Jazzmobile vocal contest. He is also a member of the jazz vocal group The Royal Bopsters. Pete is an Associate Professor of Music/Jazz Studies at William Paterson University in Wayne, NJ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *