Philipp Teriete – Afterglow (2019)

Philipp Teriete - Afterglow (2019)
Artist: Philipp Teriete
Album: Afterglow
Label: QFTF
Year Of Release: 2019
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Takete Hjerte Lys Sjel
02. Chicago Elevated
03. Desert Roses
04. Poussieres d’Etoiles
05. Light Green Snippet
06. New York Nocturne
07. On the Way to the Sun
08. Welcome Home
09. Kakum Rains


Philipp Teriete: Composition & Piano
Dave Pietro: Flute & Alto Saxophone
Martin Wind: Acoustic Bass
Elias Meister: Electric Guitar
Joe Hertenstein: Drums

With his debut album afterglow the 32-year old German pianist and composer Philipp Teriete transcends various stylistic and cultural boundaries, from jazz to classical music and West-African music. The quintet takes the listener on a musical journey to Norway, Ghana, the USA and on imaginary trips through stardusts and to the sun. Philipp Teriete spans a bow that reflects a synthesis of the various influences that shaped him.

He is a cosmopolitan, a well-rounded and versatile musician, a passionate educator and researcher. Philipp Teriete studied classical piano and music theory in Freiburg (Germany), Paris (France) and London (UK) as well as jazz piano and composition in Oslo (Norway) and New York City (USA).

In 2017, he recorded a selection of his compositions and arrangements for jazz quintet in New York City. These pieces were inspired by the “afterglow,” i.e. the pleasant memories and feelings of past journeys and experiences. The pieces of the album live from the well-balanced, dynamic interplay of the ensemble and the original improvisations of each soloist. With Dave Pietro (alto saxophone and flute), Martin Wind (double bass), Elias Meister (electric guitar) and Joe Hertenstein (drums), Philipp Teriete brought together established names of New York City’s jazz scene who contribute equally to the subtle shades of the individual pieces and express the various moods and colors in their own way.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *