The John Perrine Quartet – Here’s the Thing (2018)

The John Perrine Quartet - Here's the Thing (2018)
Artist: The John Perrine Quartet
Album: Here’s the Thing
Label: Centaur Records
Year Of Release: 2018
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

1. The Tao of Lenny Bruce 07:14
2. Tarantino’s Lullaby 04:14
3. Here’s the Thing: Here’s the Thing 07:39
4. Greener Grass 06:39
5. “Heard joke once…” 04:56
6. Welcome to the Monkey House 06:20
7. Rack-On-Touring 09:20
8. Prelude to the Screwtape Letters 02:00


A great album of straight-ahead jazz, this new release features a program of wonderful acoustic jazz composed by John Perrine. John Perrine is Associate Professor, Coordinator of Jazz Studies and Department Chair at Cleveland State University. He has premiered works by Kari Juusela, Aaron Johnson, William Price, Greg D’Allesio and others. Perrine holds a DMA from Louisiana State University, a Masters in Jazz Pedagogy from Northwestern University, and a BME from Stetson University. He is a founding member of the Neo- Tessares Saxophone Quartet as well as the Red Stick Saxophone Quartet. Red Stick has won national prizes in the MTNA and Fischoff chamber music competitions. Perrine’s composition “”Vonnegut: Suite for Saxophone Quartet”” was premiered at the North American Saxophone Alliance International Convention in Columbia, South Carolina by the Red Stick Saxophone Quartet. This is his sophomore album.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *