Tómas R. Einarsson – Gangandi bassi (2019)

Tómas R. Einarsson - Gangandi bassi (2019)
Artist: Tómas R. Einarsson
Album: Gangandi bassi
Year Of Release: 2019
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Undir bláum himni
02. Bassabopp með latíngljáa
03. Eftir sundið
04. Allt um kring
05. Upp og niður
06. Einu sinni var
07. Ása Bergný
08. Bopp og bí
09. Dúr á auga
10. Hugs


Just over forty years ago, Tomas R. Einarsson bought his first double bass in a musical instrument store in Oslo, in August 1979. On the occasion of this turning point, in October 2019, the album “Walking Bass” is released, which contains brand new songs from the workshop of the most prolific composer and bass player. On the record, Thomas recounts the musical direction and trends that he has come to grips with over the last four decades; traditional swing music, sometimes with dixland flips, jazz blues, fast swinging songs that are about the be-bop of music, slow swinging and rocking Latin songs. The recordings were composed of an unpowered sound world: double bass with strings of string, acoustic guitar and the skins in the king drums.

A concert will be held in Kaldalón, Harpa, on Sunday 17 November 2019 at. 17, along with Tomas, saxophone player Óskar Guðjónsson, Ómar Guðjónsson on guitar and Sigtryggur Baldursson on percussion.

Writer Halldór Guðmundsson has this to say about Tomas’ new album:

“The whole gives an incredibly good overview of Thomas’s career, except here he completely abandons what has always been in him: to be melodic. He unhesitatingly testifies in the jazz bible (for example, the sunshine is on the side of the street) and the melodies are better for each other, even under the unusual conditions of being played by the bass, sometimes in extremely fine accompaniment throughout the guitar. The disc not only gives us an overview of Thomas’s career as a composer, but gives a particularly good picture of his playing. This is a true adventure in walking. “

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *